Ellen Kirkwood wins Rutherford Award

JWA trumpet teacher Ellen Kirkwood is the 2012 winner of the Jann Rutherford Memorial Award. Congratulations Ellen!

The Jann Rutherford Memorial Award was founded in 2005 to assist in the professional development of an outstanding young female Australian jazz musician. The Award is named in honour of the late jazz pianist Jann Rutherford, and is funded by private donations in partnership with Melbourne Womens International Jazz Festival (MIWJF), Sydney Improvised Music Association (SIMA) and ABC Radio National.

The winner of the Award receives performance, recording and promotional opportunities and financial support to undertake these activities.

The details of the award may vary from year to year, but the value to the recipient is expected to be in excess of $8000.

The winners of the Jann Rutherford Memorial Award are chosen by a panel of some of NSW leading jazz musicians and educators convened by saxophonist Sandy Evans with assistance from Judy Bailey and Zoe Hauptmann. The award was set up at the instigation of a private benefactor who recognised a need to support young female jazz musicians at the beginning of their professional careers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *